[Skip to content]

You are here:   Home  »  About us  »  Departments and services  »  Urology  »  Meet the team

Meet the team

Jaskarn Rai - Urology

Mr Jaskarn Rai BPharm, DM, FRCS (Urol), Consultant Urological Surgeon 

Mr Jaskarn Rai qualified from Leicester Medical School in 2003. He was one of the first cohorts to qualify from the graduate entry medical programme, having previously read Pharmacy at King’s College London. He completed his medical training within the East Midlands. Mr Rai attained his Doctorate of Medicine in Prostate Cancer from the University of Nottingham in 2013. In 2015 he completed a Fellowship in Reconstructive Urethral Surgery at the internationally renowned Kulkarni Institute in Pune, India. Prior to this he undertook the Female Urology fellowship in Leicester. 

His specialist interests are in Female Urology, Genitourethral Reconstruction and Male incontinence procedures. He is actively involved with teaching at both the University of Leicester Medical School and for post graduate trainees in Urology. 

In his spare time he can be found pursuing his interests in virtual technology and the use of computers in medicine.



Mr Jonathan Goddard, Consultant Urological Surgeon 

Mr Jonathan Goddard qualified from The London Hospital Medical College in 1993. He did his basic surgical training in Plymouth and then moved to Leicester to carry out research into bladder cancer and was award an MD from the University of Leicester in 2005. Mr Goddard remained in the East Midlands for his specialist training in urology and was appointed as a Full Consultant here in 2009. 

Mr Goddard specialises in Andrology (male sexual health), Penile Cancer treatment, Bladder Pain Syndrome and Urinary Incontinence. He is the Daycase Surgery lead in Urology. 

Mr Goddard also has a degree in Medical History and is Curator of the Museum of Urology at The British Association of Urological Surgeons [www.baus.org.uk/museum], is an Associate Member of the History Board of the European Association of Urology and writes a regular History of Urology Column in the journal ‘Urology News’.

Ben Jackson - Urology

Mr Ben Jackson, Consultant Urological Surgeon

Ben Jackson qualified from Leicester Medical School in 2004 and trained in urology in the East Midlands.

He undertook fellowships in robotic surgery and complex retroperitoneal surgery in Sydney and Bristol respectively, before being appointed as a consultant urological surgeon in Leicester in 2016.

His specialist interests include open surgery for complex kidney cancer, bladder and testis cancer, and robotic surgery for smaller kidney tumours. Mr. Jackson and Mr. Kockelbergh jointly provide a regional referral service for complex kidney cancer cases, including those that have spread to adjacent major blood vessels.


Leyshon Griffiths - Urology

Mr Leyshon Griffiths, Associate Professor and Honorary Consultant Urological Surgeon. 

Mr Leyshon Griffiths qualified from St. Bartholomew’s Hospital Medical School in London in 1989.  After early posts at Cambridge (Downing College), London and Norwich, he obtained a research MD and completed training in Newcastle. In 2002, he was appointed as Consultant Urological Surgeon in Leicester. At Leicester Medical School, he is Associate Professor in Medical Education and Undergraduate Curriculum Lead for Professionalism.

He has a special interest in non-muscle invasive bladder cancer, in particular intravesical treatments and hyperthermia. He is Urology MDT Lead in Leicester and Bladder Cancer Guidelines Lead for the East Midlands Expert Cancer Advisory Group. His interest in bladder cancer has extended to membership of national Trial Management Groups, the National Cancer Research Institute, national and European Urological education and assessment on the Intercollegiate Board of Urology Question Writing Group. He was a founding Trustee and then Secretary of the charity, Action on Bladder Cancer.  

Dhaval Bodiwala - Urology

Mr Dhaval Bodiwala, Consultant Urological Surgeon.

Mr Bodiwala qualified form the University of  Birmingham in 1997 and subsequently completed an MD in prostate cancer at the University of Keele. He trained in the East Midlands and undertook a fellowship in complex renal stone surgery at the National Hospital in Sri Lanka. He was appointed as a Consultant in 2010 and has been working in Leicester since 2013. His sub-specialist interest is in the diagnosis and treatment of urinary tract stone disease.

Mr Bodiwala set up the on-site lithotripsy service which has seen improved outcomes in the treatment of stones and the metabolic stone clinic for the investigation of patients with recurrent renal stones. He is the divisional educational lead and the Programme Director for the urology trainees in the East Midlands.


Duncan Summerton

Mr Duncan J Summerton, Consultant Urological Surgeon and Honorary Senior Lecturer in Medical Education 

Mr Summerton graduated from Leicester Medical School in 1987 and undertook his general surgical and Urological training in Plymouth, Southampton and Portsmouth. He obtained Reconstructive Fellowships in the USA and at the Institute of Urology in London, with a further Fellowship in advanced andrological surgery, including prosthetics and female to male gender realignment also at the Institute of Urology. Appointed as a Consultant in 2001 in Portsmouth, he moved to Leicester in 2005 on leaving the Royal Navy after 19 years of active service. 

His clinical interests include urethral reconstruction and surgical andrology - penile cancer, implant surgery and genital reconstruction. He leads the East Midlands penile cancer supranetwork – one of the largest in the UK, and was Chairman of the European Association of Urology Trauma Guidelines panel until 2015. He regularly teaches and examines at the Medical School and examines nationally.

He is actively involved in the development, delivery, safety and quality of UK Urological practice and has sat on the Council of the British Association of Urological Surgeons (BAUS ) www.baus.org.uk since 2008. He is currently the Honorary Secretary and has recently been elected to take over as the Vice President and subsequent President of BAUS in 2018.