[Skip to content]


Safeguarding Children and Young people

ho is a child?

According to the Children Act (1989) a child is any person who has not yet reached their 18th birthday. In addition, the Children Act (2004) added that any child who has been Looked After by the Local Authority after they turned 16 years, or who has a learning disability remains a child up to their 21st birthday.

What are the categories of abuse in child safeguarding?

There are four recognised categories of child abuse:

  • Physical Abuse
  • Emotional Abuse
  • Sexual Abuse
  • Neglect

Further details of the categories of abuse, including the signs and indicators of abuse can be found in the Multi-Agency Child Safeguarding Policy and Procedures which is available at:http://llrscb.proceduresonline.com/index.htm

If you have immediate concerns about the safety of a child, call the Police on 999.

If you are concerned about the well-being of a child:

Contact the social care offices for the local area of the child:

Leicester City Children’s Social Care:                        0116 454 1004 (24hrs)

Leicestershire County Children’s Social Care        0116 305 0005 (24hrs)

Rutland Children’s Social Care                                    01572 758 407 (office hours only, contact Leicestershire Social Care outside of these hours)

We also have a Trust wide child safeguarding service which consists of a Head of Safeguarding, a Named Nurse and Midwife, child safeguarding nurses and a Named Doctor. You can contact the Safeguarding Children team on:

Telephone: 0116 258 5770

Email: child.protectionteam@uhl-tr.nhs.uk

Further information is available on the Local Safeguarding Children's Board Websites:

Leicester City: www.lcitylscb.org

Leicestershire and Rutland:  www.lrsb.org.uk